New Zealand Scholarship Top Scholar named

05 May 2017

2017 05 03 Coote NZQA 001webMinister of Education, Nikki Kaye and Prime Minister's Award for Academic Excellence recipient, Christopher Mayo.

At the New Zealand Scholarship Top Scholar Awards ceremony on the morning of Wednesday 3 May, Minister of Education, Nikki Kaye, presented the 2016 Prime Minister’s Award for Academic Excellence to Christopher Mayo of Hamilton Boys’ High School.

Christopher achieved Outstanding Scholarships in Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Statistics, Calculus, and Classical Studies, as well as Scholarships in English and Media Studies. He was also a Top Subject Scholar for Chemistry.

Not only has Christopher achieved academically, but also across a range of cultural activities, from music to the debating team. Christopher is highly regarded in the school community for the positive contribution he made to the school and his fellow students.

‘At Hamilton Boys’ High, Christopher distinguished himself as a true academic leader by consistently achieving to a very high level, and excelling in a diverse range of subjects,’ said Minister Kaye.

As he accepted the award, Christopher spoke about the power of opportunities, and emphasised the importance for all New Zealanders to have access to educational opportunities.

The Top Scholar Awards recognise the top students from the 2016 New Zealand Scholarship examinations. Acting NZQA Board Chair, John Morgan, opened the ceremony and presented the Top Subject Scholar Awards. ‘The sheer talent, breadth and depth of success shown by this group of top scholars is truly inspirational. I know we can be confident that New Zealand will be in good hands with these future leaders.’

Read more about the ceremony and all the award recipients.

Education Minister Nikki Kaye also released an official media statement as host of the event.

Find information for...

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us