European Union

European Union flagNew Zealand has completed work to compare the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF) to the European Qualifications Framework (EQF) for the European Commission.

The key outcome is to match the levels of NZQF to the levels on the EQF.

If the European Commission accepts the comparative analysis report, New Zealand will be one of the first countries outside Europe to compare its qualifications framework to the EQF.

The EQF is a regional framework

The EQF covers the national qualifications frameworks (NQFs) for all 28 Member States of the European Union (EU). Other European Higher Education Area (EHEA) countries may also reference to the EQF.

The EQF is a meta-framework, designed as a translation tool for different countries’ diverse national qualifications systems. Its levels are defined in terms of learning outcomes.

Why we’re comparing our qualifications frameworks

The comparative analysis will give the EU Member States an understanding of New Zealand’s education system, the NZQF and our quality assurance system.

This will raise the profile of all NZQF qualifications and make them easier to compare to EQF qualifications. Ultimately this will make it easier for people from New Zealand and people from EU countries to get their qualifications recognised for working and studying in each other’s countries.

Simultaneous comparison with Australia and Hong Kong

Australia and Hong Kong are also comparing their frameworks to the EQF, and to the NZQF. Therefore, comparing the NZQF to the EQF has an added benefit – it can aid the recognition of New Zealand qualifications in areas outside Europe.

New Zealand’s international obligations in Europe

This work complements New Zealand’s obligations as a signatory to both these conventions:

  • the European Convention on the Equivalence of Diplomas Leading to Admission to Universities 1953
  • the Convention on the Recognition of Qualifications concerning Higher Education in the European Region 1997 (the ‘Lisbon Recognition Convention’).

Under the first-mentioned convention, New Zealand and other signatory countries commit to recognising each other’s university entrance qualifications (Article 1.1).

Under the Lisbon Convention, New Zealand and other signatory countries commit to recognising each other’s tertiary (higher education) qualifications.

More about the NZQF and the EQF

For more information, see:
New Zealand Qualifications Framework,
European Qualifications Framework,
Lisbon Recognition Convention.

Contact us

For more information, or to give us feedback, please email us

Find information for...

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us