Mandatory Review of Creative Arts Qualifications


In early 2013, National Qualifications Services (NQS) was appointed as lead organisation for the review. This followed communication to stakeholders, in August 2012, who endorsed the options for facilitation of the review, and proposed timing for the review’s commencement.

Draft Creative Arts qualifications were developed within the following areas:

  • 5 Arts and Design
  • 3 Creativity
  • 2 Fashion and 1 Fashion Design
  • 3 Jewellery, 1 Manufacturing Jewellery and 1 Watch and Clock Making
  • 4 Digital Media and Design, 2 Animation, 2 Graphic Design, and 2 Photography
  • 1 User Interface Design and 1 Web Design and Development.

Qualifications based on Mātauranga Māori have been reviewed in parallel, within the Ngā Toi Māori review.

The purpose of the mandatory review was to reduce the duplication and proliferation of qualifications on a national scale, and ensure that qualifications are useful, relevant and valuable to current and future learners, employers and other stakeholders.

Governance Group

The Creative Arts Governance Group (CAGG) was established to have strategic leadership and direction, and an effective decision making structure for the review. A nomination and selection process was used to determine the Governance Group. Composition of the Governance Group is up to 12 people from a range of Creative Arts related groups or organisations.

Current membership of the Governance Group is

  • Gerben Cath
  • Graham Rockett
  • Grant Thompson
  • Mike Saywell
  • Noel Brown
  • Sue McLaren
  • Sue Sewell
  • Suzette Major

Previous members

  • Donna Freeman
  • Mark Pearce

Find information for...

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us