NZQF Qualification Listing and Operational Rules 2021

12. Listing of approved qualifications

  1. NZQA will list a qualification at levels 1 to 6 only where it is satisfied that the qualification does not duplicate an existing qualification, that there is a distinct need for the qualification, and that it will meet the outcomes as stated in the outcome statement required in rule 4.1(d).
  2. Where a qualification has been evaluated using Te Hono o Te Kahurangi quality assurance for qualifications, NZQA will indicate this in the listing details of the qualification.
  3. In listing a qualification NZQA will:
    1. list the relevant details set out in rules 4.1 and 5.2, and (where applicable) the details in rules 6.1 and 6.2:
    2. assign current status to the qualification:
    3. assign different review periods to those set out in rule 4.1(i) where NZQA believes that different review periods are needed.
  4. Universities New Zealand will:
    1. approve applications from universities for listing qualifications where the applications meet the requirements in rule 4.1; and
    2. list the approved qualifications on the NZQF or arrange for NZQA to do so.



Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us