National Education Information Centre (NEIC)

NZQA is designated as New Zealand's National Education Information Centre (NEIC).

The role of the National Education Information Centre is to provide information and advice on:

  • the recognition of overseas secondary and tertiary qualifications (including diplomas, degrees and other academic or professional qualifications)
  • the New Zealand education system
  • education systems in other countries.

The main users of this service are higher education institutions, students and their advisers, parents, teachers and prospective employers.

If you need more information about one of the topics above:
Ask the NEIC

Created under the Lisbon Recognition Convention

New Zealand formally joined the Lisbon Recognition Convention in February 2008.

The Convention is an agreement to improve the recognition of secondary and tertiary (higher education) qualifications. This is so that students and skilled workers can move between countries who have joined the Convention.

Under the Lisbon Recognition Convention, New Zealand is obliged to:

  • establish a National (Education) Information Centre
  • promote a Diploma Supplement or equivalent.

A Diploma Supplement is a document that provides tailored information to international audiences to help them understand and recognise New Zealand qualifications. New Zealand’s Diploma Supplement-equivalent is the Tertiary Education Qualification Statement (TEQS).

Tertiary Education Qualification Statement (TEQS)

You can read more about the Lisbon Recognition Convention in the links below.

General recognition agreements
Lisbon Recognition Convention

Part of the ENIC-NARIC network

ENIC is the European Network of (National) Information Centres. NARIC is the National Academic Recognition Information Centres network.

The ENIC-NARIC network aims to improve academic recognition of diplomas and periods of study in the European Union, the European Economic Area, Central and Eastern European countries, and third party countries. Third party countries include New Zealand, Australia, the United States and Israel.

ENIC-NARIC website

UNESCO Portal to Recognized Higher Education Institutions

This website provides students, employers and other interested parties with authoritative and up-to-date information on higher education institutions and quality assurance in participating countries. The institutions have all been recognised or otherwise sanctioned by competent authorities in these countries.

Visit the New Zealand page on the UNESCO Portal

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us