Literacy and numeracy assessment standards

The file below contains the list of the numbers and titles of standards that meet the literacy and/or numeracy requirements for the award of NCEA from 1 April 2021.

Where a standard has a 'Y' in a column, achievement of the standard will contribute to that requirement. Some standards meet both.

The numeracy standards can also be used to contribute to meeting the numeracy requirements for University Entrance.

Please note: The following standards are ONLY available for students enrolled in schools and kura involved in the NCEA pilots in 2021 and 2022. 

Religious Studies

Level 1

91916, 91917, 91918, 91919


Level 1

91920, 91921, 91922, 91923


Level 1

91924, 91925, 91926, 91927

Te Ao Haka



Level 1

91976, 91978, 91979

Level 2

91980, 91982, 91983

Level 3

91984, 91987

2021 Literacy and Numeracy Standards (XLS, 257KB)


 Previous List

2019 literacy and numeracy standards (XLS, 251KB)



Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us