AMAP for First Aid [Ref: 0230]


Review of NZQA National Qualifications Services AMAP


NZQA National Qualifications Services (NQS) has completed the review of the Accreditation and Moderation Action Plan (AMAP) above.


Date new version published                                                             December 2010


The next AMAP review is planned to take place during 2015.


Summary of review and consultation process


AMAP for First Aid has been reviewed as part of the process of reviewing NZQA first aid unit standards and developing new requirements for unit standard-based first aid training.


Between 2005 and 2010 NQS was engaged with the wider first aid sector to review NZQA first aid unit standards and related quality assurance requirements.  The review outcomes included:

·         the development of two new first aid unit standards, Unit 26551, Provide first aid for life threatening conditions and Unit 26552, Demonstrate knowledge of common first aid conditions and how to respond to them, to replace the three existing standards in the 6400 series;

·         the development and publication of First Aid as a Life Skill: Training Requirements for Quality Provision of Unit Standard-based First Aid Training.


The standards were widely discussed and consulted on through consultation networks and at first aid training provider conferences and workshops in 2008 and 2010.  The Training Requirements were consulted on in March, August, and October 2010.  Both the standards and the Training Requirements contain new sector-specific requirements for accreditation that required the AMAP to be updated.


As part of the review process it was decided that replaced standards 6400, 6401, and 6402 would be transferred from AMAP 0104 to AMAP 0230 until their expiry in December 2013.


Compliance with new requirements


Accreditation requirements will apply with effect from December 2010.


Accredited organisations will be expected to be able to demonstrate compliance with AMAP requirements from December 2010 onwards.


Main changes resulting from the review




Industry or sector-specific requirements for accreditation

·         Criterion 1 - inclusion of requirements specifying the content and minimum duration of first aid training leading to assessment against NZQA first aid unit standards.

·         Criterion 2 - inclusion of a requirement for sufficient individual access and time on all three types of manikins for individuals to practice skills prior to assessment.

·         Criterion 3 - inclusion of requirements that:

o         training and assessing staff have:

·         achieved unit standards 26551 and 26552 or expiring unit standards 6400-6402;

·         achieved unit standards in the Pre-hospital Emergency Care domain (unit standard 14473 and unit standards 14470-14472, or their replacements, unit standards 25411 and 25412), or are able to demonstrate equivalent knowledge and skills;

·         maintained currency and are able to provide evidence of up-skilling in best practice in first aid tutoring and first aid practice.  This must be demonstrated through annual participation in refresher courses and other professional development programmes;

o         staff who take a lead role in their organisation's internal moderation and/or have responsibility for preparing external moderation material for submission to NZQA are competent in moderation practice which may be demonstrated through gaining credit for Unit 11551, Moderate assessment, or being able to demonstrate equivalent knowledge and skills.