Field          Māori


Revision and Rollover of Taonga Puoro unit standards





Māori Performing Arts

Taonga Puoro

15025, 15026


NZQA Māori Qualifications Services (MQS) has revised and rolled over the unit standards listed above.


Date new versions published                                                          November 2010


Planned review date                                                                           December 2012


Summary of main changes


Currently all of the unit standards within the Māori Performing Arts subfield are, or will soon be, in the process of review.  The synchronised review of the unit standards in the subfield is to ensure consistency and flow from one level to the next.


The Whakaruruhau agreed that these unit standards should be revised and rolled over to maintain their currency until they are reviewed in full.  The review of these unit standards is due to begin in 2011.


The Māori Performing Arts Whakaruruhau felt that the domain of Taonga Puoro is a specialised area, and that time should be taken to develop this domain further to include a suite of standards that look more in depth into the whakapapa and tikanga of taonga puoro.


It is envisaged that with further development, and later promotion, the uptake of these standards will increase.


Main changes


·      Planned review date was extended to 31 December 2012.

·      Purpose statements, explanatory notes, outcomes, and evidence requirements (ER) of both standards were updated.

·      Range statements of both standards were amended for clarity, and a new range statement was added to ER 1.3 of standard 15025.

·      The prerequisites were included as recommended skills and knowledge instead, as they are not critical to health and safety.


Detailed list of unit standards - classification, title, level, and credits


Māori > Māori Performing Arts > Taonga Puoro






Demonstrate knowledge and skills of taonga puoro




Make taonga puoro