FIELD                 SERVICE SECTOR


Review of Contact Centre qualification


National Diploma in Contact Centre Management (Level 5) [Ref: 0974]


The ElectroTechnology Industry Training Organisation (ETITO) has completed the review of the qualification listed above.


Date new versions published                                                          April 2011


The next qualification review is planned to take place during 2016.


Summary of review and consultation process


During 2010 ETITO undertook extensive consultation with the contact centre industry representatives and members of the Contact Centre Advisory Group (CCAG). The review was undertaken to bring the qualification up to date for this rapidly moving industry and took into account the anticipated future skill requirements of the industry. The credit transfer arrangements have been removed from the qualification and the elective section was made more specific to meet the current and future needs of the industry. The reviewed qualification was endorsed by the consultation group.


Main changes resulting from the review


Version 3 was issued following the review of Contact Centre unit standards, which was carried out by the contact centre industry representatives and ETITO during 2010.  The qualification was aligned with these changes.


National Diploma in Contact Centre Management (Level 5) [Ref: 0974]


Review category


See Key to Qualification Review Categories at the end of report


Changes to structure and content

·         The compulsory increased from 80 to 113 credits.

·         The elective reduced from a minimum of 40 credits to a minimum of 7 credits at Level 4 or above.

·         Standards 7450 and 8494 from the compulsory were replaced or substituted by standards 23394 and 25464 respectively; standards 7455, 7458, 25450, and 25463 were added to the compulsory.

·         The credit transfer provision for NZDipBus papers was removed from the qualification.

·         Titles, levels and credits of reviewed standards were updated.




Candidates may choose to complete version 2 of the qualification or transfer to version 3.  Candidates who do not hold credit for standards 7450 and 8494 by December 2011 must transfer to version 3.  The start date for programmes or courses for the new version of this qualification is the date this version is registered.  All new trainees will be enrolled in programmes leading to the award of this version.  The last date for assessment for version 2 of this qualification is 31 December 2012.


This qualification contains standards that replace or substitute earlier standards. For the purposes of this qualification, people who have gained credit for the expiring standards are exempt from the requirement to gain credit for the earlier standards - see table below.


Credit for

Exempt from








It is not intended that anyone be disadvantaged by this review, and the above arrangements have been designed for a smooth transition.  However, anyone who feels they have been disadvantaged may appeal to the ElectroTechnology Industry Training Organisation at the address below.


ElectroTechnology Industry Training Organisation


PO Box 24469

Royal Oak

Auckland 1345


Telephone       09 525 2590



Key to Qualification Review Categories


Category A

The qualification is published as a new version with the same NQF ID

Changes are made to SSB name, contact details or purpose statement

No change is made to title, rules or components of the qualification

No transition arrangements are required

Category B

The qualification is published as a new version with the same NQF ID

Changes are made to title, rules or components

The new version of the qualification recognises a similar skill set to that recognised by the previous version

The SSB is confident that people awarded the new or previous version are comparable in terms of competence

Transition arrangements are required if candidates must gain additional/different credits for the new version

Category C

A new (replacement) qualification is published with new NQF ID

Significant changes are made to the qualification in terms of components, structure, type or level

The SSB views people with the replacement qualification as being significantly different in terms of competence from those with the replaced qualification

Transition arrangements are required

Transition may be limited to phase-out dates

Category D

Qualification will expire.

There is no replacement qualification

Qualification is no longer required by industry

The qualification is designated as expiring and a last date for meeting the qualification requirements is set