CMR for Seafood and Seafood Māori [Ref: 0123]


Revision of Seafood ITO CMR


The Seafood ITO has completed the revision of the Consent and Moderation Requirements (CMR) above.


Date new version published                                                             July 2012


The next CMR review is planned to take place during 2014.


Summary of revision


The CMR was revised to update the minimum requirements for assessing staff.  Unit standards 4098 and 11552 (or the demonstration of equivalent knowledge and skills) were required for assessment against unit standards at Level 4 and above.


Unit standard 11552 ensures that people have the skills and knowledge to design assessment.  As tertiary education organisations develop and use their own assessment material and workplace assessors use Seafood ITO developed assessment packages, the mandatory requirement for assessing staff to hold standard 11552 in order to assess against Level 4 unit standards was no longer needed.  What is required is that assessing staff have relevant and appropriate skills, experience and education to carry out higher level assessments.


Consequently, this requirement has been removed.  Where organisations seek extension to their consent to assess scope, the capacity and capability of assessing staff will be evaluated in a more holistic manner which will cover the skills, expertise and knowledge of the staff.


Compliance with new requirements


Requirements for consent to assess will apply with effect from July 2012.


Organisations with consent to assess will be expected to be able to demonstrate compliance with the CMR from January 2013 onwards.


Main changes


Requirements for Consent to Assess (RCA)


Industry or sector-specific requirements for consent to assess

·         Criterion 3 was amended to remove reference to holding Unit 11552 or being able to demonstrate equivalent knowledge and skills.