FIELD                  Law and Security


Review of Building Control Surveying qualifications


National Diploma in Building Control Surveying (Small Buildings) (Level 5) [Ref: 1486]

National Diploma in Building Control Surveying (Medium and Large Buildings) (Level 6) [Ref: 1487]


The Skills Organisation has completed the review of the qualifications listed above.


Replacement qualification


New Zealand Diploma in Building Surveying (Level 6) [Ref:3030]


Date new qualification published                                                         November 2015


The review for the New Zealand qualification is planned to take place during 2020.


Summary of review and consultation process


During 2013, a mandatory sector review of qualifications in the Building Surveying sector occurred.  The review encompassed broad consultation with industry, regulator, and tertiary education organisation stakeholders to ensure that the new qualifications meets current and future needs.


The review resulted in a recommendation that the national qualifications listed above should be replaced by a New Zealand Level 6 qualification, in order to meet stakeholder needs. 


The replacement New Zealand qualification has now been listed, and the national qualifications will therefore be discontinued.


The sector review of Building Surveying qualifications also resulted in the recommendation for development of another New Zealand qualification:

·      New Zealand Certificate in Building Regulatory Environment (Level 4) [Ref: 3029] which has also been listed.


Main changes resulting from the review


National Diploma in Building Control Surveying (Small Buildings) [Ref: 1486]


National Diploma in Building Control Surveying (Medium and Large Buildings) [Ref: 1487]

replaced by

New Zealand Certificate in Diploma in Building Surveying [Ref: 3030]


Review category


See Key to Qualification Review Categories at the end of report




The last date for entry into programmes leading to the replaced qualification is 31 December 2017, when the replaced qualification will be designated expiring.


The last date to meet the requirements of the replaced qualifications is 31 December 2019, when the qualifications will be discontinued.  From that date no results can be reported against the qualification.


People currently working towards the replaced qualification must complete the requirements by 31 December 2019.


It is anticipated that no existing candidates will be disadvantaged by these transition arrangements.  However, anyone who feels that they have been disadvantaged may appeal to The Skills Organisation at the address below.  Appeals will be considered on a case by case basis.


The Skills Organisation

Freepost 5164

PO Box 24469

Royal Oak

Auckland 1345


Key to Qualification Review Categories


Category A

The qualification is published as a new version with the same NQF ID

Changes are made to SSB name, contact details or purpose statement

No change is made to title, rules or components of the qualification

No transition arrangements are required

Category B

The qualification is published as a new version with the same NQF ID

Changes are made to title, rules or components

The new version of the qualification recognises a similar skill set to that recognised by the previous version

The SSB is confident that people awarded the new or previous version are comparable in terms of competence

Transition arrangements are required if candidates must gain additional/different credits for the new version

Category C

A new (replacement) qualification is published with new NQF ID

Significant changes are made to the qualification in terms of components, structure, type or level

The SSB views people with the replacement qualification as being significantly different in terms of competence from those with the replaced qualification

Transition arrangements are required

Transition may be limited to phase-out dates

Category D

Qualification will expire.

There is no replacement qualification

Qualification is no longer required by industry

The qualification is designated as expiring and a last date for meeting the qualification requirements is set