Field          Māori


Reinstatement of Tikanga unit standards






Tikanga Concepts


Tikanga Practices

16140, 16143, 16151


NZQA Māori Qualifications Services (MQS) has reinstated the unit standards listed above.


Date new versions published                                                          July 2017


Planned review date                                                                           December 2020




MQS reviewed and designated these unit standards expiring in December 2010 with the last date for assessment set at 31 December 2012.  In October 2012, MQS received a request to extend the last date for assessment, which was then set at 31 December 2015.  MQS received another request in July 2015 asking for a further extension, so that these unit standards could continue to be used to contribute to the National Diploma in Hauora (Māori Health) (Level 6) [Ref: 1657] past the end of 2015.  Extending the last date for assessment for these unit standards to 31 December 2017 maintained the achievability of the national diploma.


MQS received a further request to reinstate these unit standards.  The decision to expire these standards was initially made in 2010, but since then these standards have had considerable usage.  Programme developers have stated that they plan to use these unit standards in programmes that lead to the award of the New Zealand qualifications in Health and Disabilities, Social Services, and Whānau Ora.


The pre-requisite information was also moved for 3 standards to the Guidance Information section as recommended skills for the standards.


Main changes


·      Unit standards 16140, 16143, 16151 and 16201 were reinstated.

·      Moved pre-requisite information to Guidance Information section for Unit standards 16140, 16143, 16151.