CMR for NZQA Cervical Screening [Ref: 0007]


Review of NZQA National Qualifications Services CMR


NZQA National Qualifications Services has completed the review of the Consent and Moderation Requirements (CMR) above.


Date new version published                                                             November 2018


The next CMR review is planned to take place during 2023.


Summary of Review


This review was required as part of the planned maintenance of the CMR for the one registered unit standard (Unit 29556, Conduct cervical screening) classified in the Cervical Screening domain.


This review includes changes to align the requirements for consent to assess with the Ministry of Health Competencies for Cervical Screening Education and Training, and updates to reflect changes to systems and terminology within NZQA.


Key stakeholders including the Ministry of Health (National Cervical Screening Programme) and providers of cervical screening training were consulted in the review of the industry or sector-specific requirements for consent to assess.


Compliance with new requirements


Requirements for consent to assess will apply with effect from November 2018.


Moderation system requirements will apply with effect from November 2018.


Organisations with consent to assess will be expected to be able to demonstrate compliance with the CMR from July 2019 onwards.


Main changes


General changes

·         Where relevant references to secondary schools have been removed from this CMR as this domain contains one standard which is for tertiary use only.

·         Generic CMR information has been removed or adjusted to specifically address the one standard in the Cervical Screening domain.


Requirements for Consent to Assess (RCA)


Industry or sector-specific requirements for consent to assess

·         Criterion 3 – reference to training in standards-based assessment has been removed as it is not relevant to the subject-specific medical practitioners who contribute to the delivery of training

·         Criterion 3 – the range of experience and qualifications for teaching staff has been extended to include other relevant clinical-related experience.

·         Criterion 3 – a minimum of 2 years’ experience in cervical screening has been stipulated for clinical assessors.

·         Criterion 4 – student entry requirements have been updated to include members of the medical profession and the necessary requirements to undertake the clinical practice required to complete training.

·         Criterion 6 – requirements for off-site practical or work-based components have been removed as clinical practice sites must follow the requirements outlined in the National Cervical Screening Programme Policies and Standards.


Moderation Requirements (MR)


The Moderation System, Reporting, and Non-compliance with moderation requirements sections have been revised to:

·      reference the new NZQA business unit Monitoring and Assessment

·      clarify responsibilities of the NZQA business units involved in the national external moderation process

·      provide updated links to documents.



·      The rate charged for additional support or activities has been increased to reflect the fees rate introduced on 1 July 2018.