CMR for Whakaruruhau - Raranga [Ref: 0162]


Review of NZQA Māori Qualifications Services CMR


NZQA Māori Qualifications Services (MQS) has completed the review of the Consent and Moderation Requirements (CMR) above.


Date new version published                                                             July 2019


The next CMR review is planned to take place during 2023.


Summary of Review


This review was required as part of the ongoing maintenance of the CMR. The CMR for Whakaruruhau - Raranga had not been reviewed for some time and required updating from the Accreditation and Moderation Action Plan (AMAP) to the CMR format.


Over the last few years MQS has developed new unit standards, as part of the standards review process, to align with the outcomes of some of the New Zealand qualifications in Field Māori. These developments have resulted in MQS rethinking the CMR documents internally. In doing this, it was decided to review the suite of CMRs to align those requirements that were similar (or which had more commonalities than differences) yet retain individual requirements for those subfield and domains that had distinctive differences.


The Moderation Requirements (MR) section that applies to all CMRs for NZQA National Qualifications Services and Māori Qualifications Services was revised November 2016 to reflect changes to content and links as a result of the introduction of online national external moderation.


Compliance with new requirements


Requirements for consent to assess will apply with effect from July 2019.


Moderation system requirements will apply with effect from July 2019.


Organisations with consent to assess will be expected to be able to demonstrate compliance with the CMR from January 2020 onwards.


MQS will work with organisations that need more lead time to accommodate changes made.


Main changes


Accreditation and Moderation Action Plan for Whakaruruhau - Raranga [Ref: 0162]

Consent and Moderation Requirements for Ngā Mahi a te Whare Pora [Ref: 0162]


General changes

·         Some new sections were added as a result of changing from the old AMAP template to the CMR template.



Requirements for Consent to Assess (RCA)


Industry or sector-specific requirements for consent to assess

·         Criterion 1 – a requirement that ngā kaupapa o Te Hono o Te Kahurangi underpin teaching programmes was added to ensure alignment with the Ngā Mahi a te Whare Pora unit standards, qualifications, and teaching and assessment practices.

·         Criterion 1 – the requirement that programmes be reviewed every five years was removed.

·         Criterion 2 – requirement for gaining consent was moved from this criterion to Criterion 6.

·         Criterion 2 – a requirement of organisations to have policies and procedures guaranteeing provision of appropriate support for programmes with research components was added.

·         Criterion 3 – requirements were amended to ensure:

-     teaching and/or assessing staff have working knowledge of te reo and tikanga

-     teaching staff have relevant teaching qualification (or can demonstrate equivalent knowledge and skills); and

-     programmes with research components are taught by teaching staff with research supervision experience and expertise.

·         Criterion 3 – requirement that teaching and/or assessing staff have ongoing mentoring was removed.

·         Criterion 4 – requirements around student entry were removed.

·         Criterion 5 – requirement that support for students take account of local tikanga and kawa was changed to “respectful, effective, culturally appropriate…”.

·         Criterion 6 – reference to Health and Safety at Work (General Risk and Workplace Management) Regulations 2016 was added, in terms of harvesting natural resources.

·         Criterion 7 – requirement that demonstrated competence in the outcomes of the unit standards comply with local tikanga and kawa was removed.

·         Criterion 8 – requirement was removed as it repeated what is required under Criterion 8 of the General requirements for accreditation.

·         Te Hono o Te Kahurangi – requirement for all providers of field Māori unit standards to show how the kaupapa (principles) of Te Hono o Te Kahurangi are expressed by their organisation was added.


Moderation Requirements (MR)


A separate review of the Moderation Requirements (MR) was undertaken by NZQA in August 2015, and the reviewed version applies to all NZQA CMRs. The MR section was revised November 2016 to reflect changes to content and links as a result of the introduction of online national external moderation, and an updated version has been incorporated into this CMR.

·         Moderation System section added, which reflects current external moderation practice.

·         Materials required for moderation section added, which outlines what must be submitted (for both schools and TEOs), including learner samples.

·         Reporting section added, which includes moderation reports, summary of moderation outcomes, querying moderation reports, and feedback on moderation system.

·         Funding section added, including reference to Best Practice Workshops and the rate charged for additional support or activities (reflects the fees rate introduced on 1 July 2018).

·         Non-compliance with moderation requirements section added, including specific examples of NZQA actions in cases of ongoing non-compliance.

·         Appeals section added, referring organisations to the NZQA website for guidance.

·         Links to documents on the NZQA website were provided and/or updated.