Te Marautanga o Aotearoa University Entrance subjects

There are six unique Te Marautanga o Aotearoa subjects on the list of approved subjects for University Entrance.

  • Hauora
  • Ngā Toi
  • Ngā Mahi a te Rēhia
  • Ngā Toi Ataata
  • Ngā Toi Puoro
  • Tikanga ā-iwi

Requirements for mainstream and immersion units

Mainstream students studying within a kaupapa Māori context can be awarded the six unique Te Marautanga o Aotearoa subjects as part of meeting the three approved subjects requirement for University Entrance. These students will be undertaking coherent learning programmes which are aligned to the principles and intent of Te Marautanga o Aotearoa

The definition of kaupapa Māori is:

  • significant use of Te Reo Māori (i.e. the school is at levels one or two of the Māori language immersion levels); and
  • Māori education that incorporates a Māori world view; and
    • incorporates ways of teaching in a range of settings, including bilingual and immersion settings (English and Māori); and
    • delivers the Te Marautanga o Aotearoa curriculum subjects in te reo Māori only, or in both te reo Māori and English.

Mainstream schools with students studying in a kaupapa Māori context (such as through an immersion unit) must notify NZQA of the students undertaking the TMoA subjects below:

  • Hauora
  • Ngā Mahi a te Rēhia
  • Ngā Toi Ataata
  • Ngā Toi Puoro.

Schools must complete and submit this attestation form (XLSX, 13KB) to NZQA by 1 December each year. This will enable NZQA to correctly calculate whether these students have met the three approved subjects requirement as part of being awarded University Entrance in January of the following year. NZQA does not need notification of students undertaking Ngā Toi and Tikanga ā-Iwi subjects.



Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us newzealand.govt.nz