Māori Business and Management

web 80w MBMMāori Qualifications Services (MQS) is pleased to advise that in October 2016 the following Māori Business and Management mātauranga Māori qualifications were listed on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF) with an overall rating of He Pounamu Kahurangi (PDF, 660KB).

The qualifications are the:

These qualifications align with the 12 Business qualifications that have already been listed.

Now that these qualifications are listed, providers will need to obtain programme approval or provider accreditation to deliver an approved programme before they can offer the new qualifications.

We thank all stakeholders and individuals for their commitment to this process and contribution in the development of these qualifications.

Approved to Develop

The two new Māori Business and Management qualifications were approved for development in December 2015 and received an overall rating of He Pounamu Kahurangi.

Needs analysis


In October 2015, MQS invited feedback on the proposed level 3 and 4 qualification documents.  These were also distributed for consultation amongst stakeholders.  These qualifications were submitted for quality assurance through the MMEQA process.

Feedback for this stage of development (Approval to Develop) has closed.  MQS thanks all who responded to the initial proposal for the qualifications and look forward to receiving feedback at the next stage (Approval to List).


As part of the mandatory review of Business qualifications (which included all Business qualifications at levels 2-6 on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework), the scope for Māori Business and Management qualifications concentrated only on Levels 5 and 6.

The needs analysis for the Level 5 Māori Business qualification (which was listed separately under the Mātauranga Māori Evaluative Quality Assurance (MM EQA) process) identified indicators confirming a need for qualifications at lower levels.

These indicators were validated and evidence was found supporting the need for Māori Business and Management qualifications at Levels 3 and 4.

As such, two new qualifications were developed, one at Level 3 (which is intended to replace the National Certificate in Māori Management - Generic (Whakangahau ki Te Ao Māori – Workplace Practices) (Level 3) [Ref: 1432]) and another at Level 4.

Contact us

If you wish to contact the Māori Business and Management qualifications review for any reason, please email Māori Qualifications Services.

Find information for...

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us newzealand.govt.nz