Mandatory Review of Science Qualifications Levels 1-6

Qualifications in Science levels 1-6 have been reviewed as part of the nationwide mandatory review of qualifications.

Recent developments

The new Science qualifications were listed on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework on 12 February 2015. They can be accessed through the links below or by searching for the reference number.

  • New Zealand Certificate in Applied Science (Level 3) [Ref: 2550]
  • New Zealand Certificate in Applied Science (Level 4) [Ref: 2551]
  • New Zealand Diploma in Applied Science (Level 5) [Ref: 2552]
  • New Zealand Diploma in Applied Science (Level 6) [Ref: 2553]
  • New Zealand Certificate in Laboratory Systems Management (Level 6) [Ref: 2554]

Qualification Developer

Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology (CPIT) has been confirmed as the ongoing Qualification Developer. Any questions about the listed qualifications should be directed to CPIT. NZQA National Qualifications Services, who was the interim qualification developer for the duration of the review, facilitated meetings of Governance and Working Groups, and maintained communications with stakeholders.

Use of unit standards in programmes leading to the new qualifications

The new qualifications may be assessed with local components, achievement standards, unit standards, or a mixture of all three. The following examples provide some combinations of unit standards which may be useful in programmes.

National Qualifications Services will continue to maintain the Science unit standards, and we will develop new unit standards to match new qualifications if requested. We welcome your feedback about their suitability and usefulness, to

Contact for the qualifications 

If you have any questions about the newly listed Science qualifications, please email

Background >>

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us