Qualifications and standards

Development of Manaaki Marae standards

This page provides updates and notices during the development of these new assessment standards.

Submitted for quality assurance

Manaaki Marae new

Māori Qualifications Services and the Manaaki Marae Whakaruruhau have now completed the revision of standard 27510 Identify traditional kai and describe the gathering process, and the development of four (4) new standards.

The standards application was submitted for quality assurance and listing on the Directory of Assessment Standards in March 2018.

Standards submitted

Domain: Manaaki Marae - Takatū Kai

New 1 Demonstrate knowledge of customary and traditional kai Māori 2 4
New 2 Explain customary and traditional kai Māori, and the kaitiakitanga of kai Māori 3 6

Domain: Manaaki Marae - Whāngai Manuhiri

New 3 Prepare, cook, and present dishes for manuhiri 2 10
New 4 Prepare and produce a hāngi in accordance with tikanga and provided plan 4 10


Maanaki Marae Levels 2, 3 and 4 assessment standards were developed by the Manaaki Marae Whakaruruhau to align with the Graduate Profile outcomes of the following qualifications:


For the latest information and updates regarding this development, please refer back to this page, or contact Māori Qualifications Services.

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us newzealand.govt.nz