Supported Learning unit standards

Unit standards for Supported Learning  are intended for learners who require some form of support with their learning either through additional resources, specialised equipment or adapted teaching programmes.  They are people with learning disabilities and include those with intellectual disability.

These standards are available to secondary school and tertiary providers of programmes of study.

Upcoming reviews

The next review of Supported Learning unit standards is scheduled to occur by December 2020.

Resources and links

Completed reviews

November 2015 unit standards review

Details are available in the November 2015 Review of Supported Learning unit standards change report.

To provide guidance to providers and educators in their interpretation of the NZ Certificate for Skills for Living for Supported Learners (with an optional strand in Skills for Working) [Ref: 2853], 14x unit standards were developed to replace the existing ones.


For more information and/or comments regarding these unit standards, please email:

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us