Qualifications and standards

Governance of Māori Authorities

This page provides updates and notices during the unit standards review.

Maori Governance

E hī ake ana te atakura.  He tio, he huka, he hauhunga

The red dawn comes with a sharpened air, a touch of frost, the promise of a glorious day.

Listed unit standards

Māori Qualifications Services (MQS) is pleased to advise that the reviewed Governance of Māori Authorities unit standards were listed on the Directory of Assessment Standards in December 2015. The unit standards can be accessed here.

For more information on the outcome of this review please download the Review of Governance of Māori Authorities unit standards (PDF, 190KB) change report.

Classification application

In October 2015, MQS were advised that the proposed domain, Governance of Māori Land, would not be approved without a definite indication that more than three unit standards would be classified in it.  It is usual for a proposed domain to contain between 10 and 30 standards.

Going forward MQS intends to develop new Governance of Māori Land unit standards and resubmit the application at a later date.


The review of these unit standards was initiated through their scheduled review to ensure the unit standards were fit for purpose, relevant and aligned to the graduate profile outcomes of the Manu Taiko - Toro Parirau (Kaupae 4) [Ref: 2426] qualification.


For the latest information and updates regarding this review, please refer back to this page, or contact Māori Qualifications Services.

Link to Field Māori Assessment Support Materials.

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us newzealand.govt.nz