How Australian and NZ qualifications compare

Find out how New Zealand and Australia recognise each other's qualifications.

How the comparison works

A joint project between New Zealand and Australia to compare the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF) and the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) found the two frameworks are broadly comparable.

The project sits in the context of, and complements, the Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement (CER) and the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Arrangement (TTMRA).

The comparison is intended to make it easier for education providers and employers to understand the qualification and how it compares to similar qualifications in their country. Our arrangement with Australia does not guarantee that a qualification completed in the other country will be automatically recognised as equivalent.

Comparison of framework levels

Level 1 Level 1
Level 2 Level 2
Level 3 Level 3
Level 4 Level 4
Level 5 Level 5
Level 6 Level 6
Level 7 Level 7
Level 8 Level 8
Level 9 Level 9
Level 10 Level 10

In Australia, Senior Secondary Certificate of Education qualifications are not included as a level in the AQF. In New Zealand, the National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) qualifications are on the NZQF. For information about using NCEA in Australia, see:

Applying to study in Australia

Read the full report

Enhancing Mobility – Referencing of the Australian and New Zealand Qualifications Frameworks (PDF, 932KB)

Contact us

For more information or to give us feedback, email

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us