Maori and Pasifika

Te Kōkiritanga and Takiala Pasifika Consultations open

Consultation is now open for both of our new draft strategic action plans: Te Kōkiritanga 2020-2023 and Takiala Pasifika 2020-2023

You are invited to provide feedback to support the development of our two strategies by:

  1. Visiting the pages for these strategies (links above)
  2. Read and consider the draft strategies and
  3. Complete the short surveys.

Consultation for these strategies is open until 5pm on Wednesday 29 July 2020.

COVID-19 Assessment of Distance Learning
Field Māori Assessment Support Materials

Realise Your Potential

A range of assessment resources is available to help teachers assess students against unit standards listed in the Field Māori section of the Directory of Assessment Standards. Read more »

Field Māori programme development support

Māori Qualifications Services has available a selection of downloadable resources to assist programme developers. Read more »

Mātauranga Māori qualifications and assessment standards

Field Māori gives national recognition to mātauranga Māori. It is one of the classification fields for the Directory of Assessment Standards (DAS) that caters specifically to Māori knowledge, pedagogy, and skills, and enables the portability of Māori skills and knowledge within the national education system.

This image depicts Field Māori. The disciplines, or subfields, within Field Māori are represented by pou (pillars) in the wharenui (meeting house) where knowledge is nurtured. The four cornerstones are Reo Māori (the Māori language), Tikanga (Māori traditions and customs), Ngā mahi a Te Whare Pora (traditional weaving), and Whakairo (traditional carving). See a full sized version.

Browse Field Māori Assessment Standards »

Māori Qualifications Services works collaboratively with Whakaruruhau and other stakeholders to develop mātauranga Māori qualifications, and standards in Field Māori. MQS also develops assessment support materials for tutors and promotes the uptake of Mātauranga Māori qualifications. Read more »

Te Hono o Te Kahurangi quality assurance
Māori providers

Just over 40 registered providers identify themselves as Māori providers. These educational institutions deliver Māori subjects, conduct their courses in a Māori environment, or focus specifically on the needs of Māori learners. Read more »

Te Rautaki Māori

Te Kōkiritanga Consultation open

Consultation is now open for NZQA's new draft Māori strategic action plan: Te Kōkiritanga 2020-2023. You are invited to provide feedback to support the development of our new strategy by:

1. Visiting the page for the new strategy

2. Reading and considering the draft strategy and

3. Completing the short survey.

Consultation is open until 5pm on Wednesday 29 July 2020. Read more »

NCEA and the Whānau

NCEA is the National Certificate of Educational Achievement.  It is the main qualification for New Zealand secondary school learners and students and it is a very important qualification. Read more.

NCEA & the Whānau is an information programme that aims to help whānau understand NCEA. Read more »

Māori and the Future State


stem banner 700x200 Read more »


Pacific girls with phoneTalofa lava, Malo e lelei, Fakaalofa lahi atu, Kia orana, Ni sa bula, Talofa ni, Halo ola keta, Bula vinaka, Mauri.

Here you will find helpful information and resources to help support Pasifika learners engaged in the New Zealand secondary education system.

  Read more »

Ngā Kete Mātauranga

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­These kete contain materials and information to support the development and implementation of a Secondary School programme for the following Field Māori Qualifications. The information contained in each kete is centered around the use of Field Māori unit standards as the main assessment components of the programme being developed.  Read more »

Find information for...

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us