National secondary examinations timetable

check the NCEA & Scholarship timetable on your smartphone at:  https://timetable.nzqa.govt.nz

Mathematics Common Assessment Task (MCAT)

In 2019, dates for MCAT are Tuesday 17 and Thursday 19 September. Guidelines for administration for the MCAT will be published on the Mathematics subject page and communicated by circular.

Examinations

ALL NCEA (levels 1–3) and New Zealand Scholarship examination sessions are three hours.

All exam sessions start at either 9.30 am or 2.00 pm.

Examination timetable 2019

Download the 2019 examination timetable (PDF, 98KB).

Date / TimeNCEA Level 1NCEA Level 2NCEA Level 3Scholarship
Fri 8 Nov 9.30 am   Physics Business Studies Calculus
  2.00 pm Geography German Dance Agricultural & Horticultural Science
WEEKEND
Mon 11 Nov 9.30 am Biology Music Media Studies Accounting
2.00 pm Business Studies Chemistry Agricultural & Horticultural Science / German / Chinese English
Tues 12 Nov 9.30 am   English    
2.00 pm History Te Reo Māori Biology Economics
Wed 13 Nov 9.30 am English      
2.00 pm   Media Studies Home Economics Statistics
Thurs 14 Nov 9.30 am Science   Making Music History
2.00 pm Te Reo Māori / Art History Geography Chemistry Te Reo Rangatira
Canterbury Anniversary Day
WEEKEND
Mon 18 Nov 9.30 am Chemistry Chinese French Drama
2.00 pm Classical Studies Health Economics  
Tues 19 Nov 9.30 am German Biology Geography  
2.00 pm Physics Home Economics Classical Studies Japanese
Wed 20 Nov 9.30 am Mathematics & Statistics     Biology
2.00 pm   Drama Physics Art History
Thurs 21 Nov 9.30 am   Mathematics & Statistics   Classical Studies
2.00 pm Music Accounting History French
Fri 22 Nov 9.30 am Accounting   English  
2.00 pm Home Economics  Economics   Geography 
WEEKEND
Mon 25 Nov 9.30 am    History Health Physics
2.00 pm Te Reo Rangatira / Latin Agricultural & Horticultural Science Sāmoan Te Reo Māori / Latin
Tues 26 Nov 9.30 am French Business Studies Calculus  
2.00 pm Economics   Accounting Media Studies 
Wed 27 Nov 9.30 am Media Studies Earth & Space Science Drama Chemistry
2.00 pm Sāmoan / Spanish Japanese Te Reo Rangatira / Social Studies / Psychology Sāmoan
Thurs 28 Nov 9.30 am Agricultural & Horticultural Science Art History Statistics  
2.00 pm Chinese Spanish Earth & Space Science  
Fri 29 Nov 9.30 am Drama Social Studies Music Studies Spanish
2.00 pm Health Sāmoan / Education for Sustainability Te Reo Māori / Latin Chinese 
WEEKEND
Mon 2 Dec 9.30 am Social Studies Dance Art History Earth & Space Science
  2.00 pm   Classical Studies   German
Tues 3 Dec 9.30 am Dance French Spanish  
  2.00 pm Japanese Te Reo Rangatira / Latin Japanese  

Submission dates for portfolios and reports 

DateNCEA Level 1NCEA Level 2NCEA Level 3Scholarship
Wed 23 Oct Visual Arts      
Wed 30 Oct   Visual Arts    
Wed 30 Oct Design and Visual Communication /
Technology
Design and Visual Communication /
Technology
Design and Visual Communication /
Education for Sustainability /
Technology
Dance /
Design and Visual Communication /
Physical Education /
Technology / Music
Thurs 7 Nov     Visual Arts Visual Arts

Note: These are the deadlines for schools to submit materials to NZQA. Students should confirm dates for submission within their schools.

 
Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us newzealand.govt.nz