Class 1 Driver Licence

The New Zealand Class 1 Driver Licence unit standards are available to learners enrolled in a school or registered tertiary education organisation (TEO) which holds consent to assess for the ‘Driver Licence Class 1’ domain.

There are three standards:

Credits from these standards can count towards learners’ achievement of NCEA and other qualifications on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework.

Process for learners

Once a learner has gained their Class 1 Driver Licence, they can be awarded these standards and gain credits on their Record of Achievement through a ‘recognition of prior learning’ process.

Learners simply need to download and complete the Waka Kotahi Class 1 Driver Licence – Recognition of Prior Learning (PDF, 196KB) form and present it, along with their official photographic licence to the school or TEO to check and process.

Consent to assess

Secondary schools and TEOs must hold consent to assess for the Class 1 Driver Licence standards in order to award credit.

  • Secondary schools – the standards are within the Base Scope of Assessment for Schools.
  • TEOs – the usual consent to assess application process applies; however, the letter of support from the standard-setting body (Waka Kotahi) is not required.

Award and reporting process for schools and TEOs

Schools and TEOs will use ‘recognition of prior learning (RPL)’ to award credit for the different levels of the Class 1 Driver Licence unit standards. A learner presenting an official photographic Class 1 Driver Licence provides the necessary evidence for RPL.

A flow chart demonstrating the process is available in the document  Process to report credits for Class 1 Driver Licence unit standards (PDF, 188KB).

The unit standards are different to the tests for a Class 1 Driver Licence. Waka Kotahi’s network of agents will continue to conduct the driver licence test. More information can be found on the Waka Kotahi website, including agent locations offering administration facilities, theory tests, restricted practical tests and full practical tests.

Reporting fees and monitoring of standards

  • Schools - the cost of reporting the credits is covered by the learner’s standard annual fee collected by the school.
  • TEOs - normal credit reporting fees apply. Costs for RPL assessment are expected to be minimal (recognising the minimal workload).

NZTA and NZQA will be responsible for the moderation of these standards.

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us