Tertiary evaluation indicators – an overview

The tertiary evaluation indicators (TEIs) follow the principles of the evaluative quality assurance framework (EQAF), which means they:

  • are needs-based
  • focus on outcomes
  • are flexible in their application
  • balance trust and accountability
  • do not prescribe quality in only one way.

The main purpose of the TEIs is to provide tertiary education organisations (TEOs) with common points of reference for what 'good' can look like in education and training. As such, the TEIs serve as a useful tool in ongoing organisational self-assessment.  

Furthermore, the TEIs help inform the answers to the key evaluative questions (KEQs) which all organisations will need to answer in the course of external evaluation and reviews (EERs). At the same time, the TEIs prompt EER evaluators to consider the possible sources of evidence of organisational performance and capability in self-assessment relevant to each TEO under review.

Full information on the indicators can be found in the publication, Tertiary Evaluation Indicators (PDF, 1.1MB).

The table showing how the indicators relate to the KEQs can be found here (PDF, 109KB).

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us newzealand.govt.nz