Tonight we are undertaking some important system updates necessary to support our NCEA results reporting for schools Published at 3.28pm on 16 January

The update will take place for up to four hours from 10pm on Wednesday 16 January.

Access to our Learner Login pages will be unavailable during this time, including access to the NCEA results.

We have scheduled this brief but necessary outage at this time in order to minimise any inconvenience to students.

Top Scholar Awards Ceremony

 All Scholars Murray Strong Prime Minister and Minister Hipkins

New Zealand Scholarship examinations assess students against challenging standards and are demanding for the most able students.

NZQA celebrated the success of the highest-achieving New Zealand Scholarship students at the annual Top Scholar Awards Ceremony hosted at Parliament on 2 May 2018.

The awards recognised the elite students who make up the 2017 Premier Award and Top Subject Scholarship Award winners.

Prime Minister of New Zealand, Jacinda Ardern announced the recipient of the Prime Minister’s Award for Academic Excellence: Andrew Tang, formerly of Scots College.


Top Scholars Awards winners 2017

Prime Minister's Award

Premier Scholarship Award Winners

Top Subject Scholarship Award Winners

Previous Top Scholars Awards winners









To find the scripts, where available, refer to the subject resources page for each subject.

For further details of each year's Scholarship results, see the Annual Reports on NCEA & New Zealand Scholarship Data & Statistics.

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us