NZQA Board Members

The New Zealand Qualifications Authority is headed by a Board appointed by the Minister of Education. The Board brings experience from industry, community and education sectors.

WWW Board

Murray Strong - Board Chair

Murray Strong is an independent Chairman andWWW M Strong professional director, and a Chartered member of the Institute of Directors of New Zealand. He currently holds governance and advisory roles in both the public and private sector including the Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority, the Ministry of Education and the TSB Trust and is actively involved in the Christchurch rebuild. Murray has held a variety of Crown appointed senior roles over the last 15 years, including Crown Commissioner, and has worked in governance and senior management roles across the education, aviation, professional services, tourism and sport sectors.

Board term commenced: 1 November 2010. Expires 7 November 2021.

Neil Quigley

Neil Quigley is the Vice-Chancellor at the WWW N QuigleyUniversity of Waikato. Previously he was a Professor of Economics and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at Victoria University of Wellington. He completed his BA and MA at the University of Canterbury before completing a PhD at the University of Toronto and currently serves on the boards of a number of educational organisations and companies, including being Chair of the Board of Trustees of Wellington College. Neil’s research interests are in applied finance, industrial organisation, and the boundaries between law and economics. His most recent work has been on the pricing of real estate leases, and compensation for takings of property rights. Neil is also the Chair of the Reserve Bank.

Board term commenced: 1 November 2010. Expires 7 November 2019.

Kate Shevland

Kate Shevland has been Principal of Orewa WWW K ShevlandCollege for 20 years and has strong links across the education sector. She is currently on the Executive of the Auckland Secondary Principals Association and on the Board of Pathways to Employment Trust and NEAL. She has previously been on the Board of Rodney Economic Development Trust, ASSHA, Harbour Sport, Chair of North Shore Secondary Principals group and on many local educational advisory committees. Kate was on the Ministerial reference group for the RTLB review and the Twenty First Century Learning reference group, and is currently a member of the Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards Panel. She is a strong advocate for relevant future focused learning, responsive to student and societal needs.

Board term commenced: 26 August 2015. Expires 7 November 2021.

Mary Chamberlain

Mary is a successful leader of educational reform. WWW M ChamberlainFrom 2001-2011 she led a large team in the New Zealand Ministry of Education to design strategies to improve teaching, learning and student outcomes. From 2004-2007 she led the development of the New Zealand Curriculum for primary and secondary schools and the design of National Standards in literacy and numeracy from 2010-2012. Mary is currently a director of an independent consultancy company, Evaluation Associates Ltd.

Mary has in-depth knowledge and up to date experience in designing strategies to bring about effective change in education. She holds an Executive Master's degree in Public Administration and in 2012 she became a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for her services to education.

Board term commenced: 13 September 2016. Expires 13 September 2019.

Antony Royal

Antony has strong community involvement andWWW A Royala background in the Information and Communication Technology industry. He holds a degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Auckland University, has spent many years in the ICT industry and currently holds a number of governance positions. He also chairs Te Mana o Kupe Trust, which was established to support the cluster of 13 schools in Porirua East whose focus is to deliver greater educational achievement by engaging tamariki, teachers and whanau through the use of technology.

Previous roles have included Global Infrastructure Manager and Web Initiatives Manager for the NZ Dairy Board (Fonterra), implementation of financial management systems for a number different government Departments, and positions on a number of advisory boards. Antony has been involved in many projects that involve technology and better educational outcomes.

Board term commenced: 13 September 2016. Expires 13 September 2019.

Lyn Provost

Lyn was Controller and Auditor General for eight WWW L Provostyears. Prior to that she was Deputy Commissioner of New Zealand Police. Lyn has also held roles in the State Services Commission and as Acting Chief Archivist and Chief Executive of Archives New Zealand. Lyn is currently the Chair of the Guardian of the Alexander Turnbull Library and the Advisory Group for the Brian Picot Chair of Ethical Leadership at Victoria University of Wellington. She also serves on the International Auditing and Assurance Board (IAASB), Transparency International New Zealand, Advisory Panel advising the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security and Education New Zealand.

Lyn holds a BCA from Victoria University of Wellington and is a Chartered Accountant (FCA).  In 2017 she became a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for her services to the state.

Board term commenced: 8 November 2018. Expires 7 November 2021

Jenn Bestwick

Jenn is an independent Director with a WWW J Bestwickbackground in business and management consulting. She currently works as a Lead Reviewer with the States Services Commission Performance Improvement Framework and works with the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment on science investment performance. Jenn has previously worked with KPMG and Ngāi Tahu. Qualifications she holds include a LB Hons from the University of Trent, Nottingham and Solicitors Examinations from Chester College of Law.

Jenn was previously on the NZQA Board from 2011-2013.  She was the Chair of Ara Institute of Canterbury (formerly the Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology).  Other past directorships include Southern Response Earthquake Services Limited, Tourism New Zealand and Learning Media Limited.  She is currently the Chair of the Resilience to Nature’s Challenges National Science Challenge, on the Advisory Body to Development West Coast, and on the Boards for Arrow Irrigation Company Limited and the Tertiary Education Commission.

Board term commenced: 8 November 2018. Expires 7 November 2021

Find information for...

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us